Programmes & Syllabus - CAIE

Cambridge Assessment International Education

Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) is the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14-16 year olds.

CAIE is a curriculum that develops students’ skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving and prepares them for the next stage in their education.

Schools worldwide have helped in developing the CAIE curriculum and this itself is the specialty of CAIE. It incorporates the best in international education for students at this level in line with changing needs, and is regularly updated and extended. Different combinations of subjects are offered in CAIE with a variety of routes for learners of different abilities. Each subject is certified separately.

The CAIE is taken in over 100 countries worldwide and is internationally recognised as being equivalent to the GCSE in the United Kingdom. It also has wide recognition from higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic ability.

Cambridge ICE is the group award of the Cambridge Assessment International Education and requires the study of subjects drawn from the five different subject groups. It gives schools the opportunity to benefit from offering a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of students who pass examinations in at least seven subjects, including two languages, and one subject from each of the other subject groups.

It is awarded at the following three levels:

Distinction: Grade A in five subjects and Grade C or above in two subjects.
Merit Grade C or above in five subjects and Grade F or above in two subjects.
Pass Grade G or above in seven subjects from the prescribed subject groups.

A wide range of CAIE subjects is available and these are grouped into five curriculum areas, as follows:

Group I Languages
Group II Humanities and Social Sciences
Group III Sciences
Group IV Mathematics
Group V Creative, Technical and Vocational

Grading is on an eight-point scale (A*–G). The Cambridge portfolio of CAIE qualifications provides a solid foundation in preparation for A Level, AS, International Baccalaureate and US Advanced Placement courses. Students who do not want to pursue international curriculum after CAIE also have a choice to switch over to national curriculum as CBSE and ISC or any state board.

We offer the following choice of subjects in IGCSE (For Grades IX & X):

Group 1 Languages (at least two): First Language English, English Literature, Foreign Language French & Spanish and Second language Hindi.
Group 2 (Humanities): Economics, History & Geography.
Group 3 (Sciences): Biology, Physics & Chemistry.
Group 4 (Mathematics): Mathematics & Cambridge International Mathematics.
Group 5 (Creative & Vocational): Business Studies, Art & Design, Music, Physical Education and Computer Science.

These eighteen subjects are grouped in the following way and a student has to opt for a total of eight subjects. This gives an option to the students to study all sciences/non-science subjects/combination of both.

The CAIE develops and reinforces a broad range of skills that are needed for the Cambridge A level programme, IB Diploma programme and the Indian School Certificate programme in grades 11 and 12. The ICE or CAIE certificate is recognised by academic institutions and employers worldwide.

In case of further queries regarding the CAIE Programme, please contact the CAIE Coordinator or the school office.

For more information about CAIE, Cambridge, please visit


Send Us an Enquiry